Crafting · Kids Activities

Quiet Book pages

Vacation time is just around the corner and we’re starting to get things ready for our fun trip. I love to give the kids something new during traveling to keep them occupied and give me a few more moments of sanity (cause really, travel can be stressful for everyone). And this is Sweet Pea’s first major trip which means it’s her first time on a plane! That means I have been one stressed mommy in preparing to keep my active toddler occupied, hopefully quiet (ish) and content for these flights across the country. Of course, I’ll be bringing some of her current favorite toys and books, but I needed something new that would catch her attention and prevent her from wanting to explore every nook and cranny on the plane. Many of the toys I saw in the stores were “noisy” toys that would likely get drowned out by the noise of the plane and I usually don’t like to have a lot of those kinds of toys anyways.

So I turned to Pinterest again and looked for some simple quiet pages that I could easily put together. So I started with this Potato Head pattern and made this page.

Felt Potato Head Quiet Page at Mother Mingo Felt potato head quiet page at Mother Mingo Felt potato head quiet page at Mother Mingo

After that page came together, I thought I could tackle one a little more complex. I turned these princess dresses into a felt version of a paper doll. I made the dresses first, they were pretty easy and quick. I was having a little trouble creating the girl until I found this pattern (I just resized it a little bit). The hair is based off a photo of some dolls in an Etsy shop that no longer is open (I found the image on Pinterest and is pinned to my Quiet Books board).

Princess quiet page at Mother Mingo Princess quiet page at Mother Mingo Princess quiet page at Mother Mingo

Princess quiet page at Mother Mingo Princess quiet page at Mother Mingo Princess quiet page at Mother Mingo

Princess quiet page at Mother Mingo Princess quiet page at Mother Mingo

In the middle of creating these 2 pages, I needed to make a run to get some more colors of felt (strangely enough we didn’t have pinks or purples in our stash). I found some flower felt stickers and grabbed a bag of those (from Hobby Lobby) and created a few flower stems for a super simple page.

Flower garden quiet page at Mother Mingo Flower garden quiet page at Mother Mingo

Sweet Pea was so helpful in testing out the page as I was sticking flowers back to back (making a thicker flower that should be easier to grab and hold). It looks like these pages just might keep her attention for a while during our flights.

What is your favorite activity to do when flying? Or what do you bring for the kids?

PIN ME:

Quiet Pages at Mother Mingo

I’ve linked up to the party –

The Happy ScrapsSave

Save

One thought on “Quiet Book pages

  1. Pingback: Vacation recap

Leave a Reply

