Scrapbooking

Scrappy Saturday (Sunday)

I’ve had this dream for a long time to get to a decent place in my scrapping ability and be able to have just one of my pieces featured somewhere. I know that I ultimately scrap for me and my family, but just to have one page (or project) displayed for others to see and serve as inspiration to them. At the time, I was a paper scrapbooker and I submitted a couple pages to the magazines. I wasn’t even going to be picky, even making a “reader’s corner” would have been great. 

The process for applying to a manufacturers’ design team was very daunting and I never felt like my body of work would have been good enough to even be looked at. So I doubted myself and never applied. I later started in digital scrapbooking and felt like I was starting all over again with my work. It was a new challenge though and knew that I would one day be happy with how my pages came out.

I’ve worked at learning new things and created a series of pages during a month of challenges (some of those pages turned into my first Scrappy Saturday). I felt like I was comfortable sharing my pages in an online gallery of digi scrappers. I had “followed” several designers from a previous shop that closed to The Lilypad and started to feel like I was becoming part of that community. 

Fast forward to present day. I had not really thought about applying to a designer’s creative team until a couple months ago. And even when this opportunity came up, I was skeptical of my own work again. My online gallery was not very big and part of the application wanted some specific examples using this particular designer’s product. I finally convinced myself that even with my small gallery of work, I would apply and turn it into a learning process. I could then work on building my gallery up, and try again at the next call.

Well, all this leads to one very exciting email I received from the designer. I had been chosen to be a member of the Creative Team! So I’ll be making this a regular feature now, showing my scrapbook pages that I made in the week.

Featuring Fiddle Dee Dee Four Square Dressed Down. Full credits in my gallery at the Lilypad.

 If you’re a digital scrapbooker I hope you’ll join us at the Pad. Or if you’ve thought of starting digi, I’d be happy to answer any questions you might have!

Leave a Reply

