holiday

Happy New Year!

No, I’m  not experiencing deja vu. I’m celebrating a different holiday. Gung Hay Fat Choy! I’m pretty proud of my Chinese heritage. So I love celebrating the Chinese New Year (or Lunar New Year or Spring Festival as it is actually called).

This year is the Year of the Rooster. I am actually born on the cusp so I share many traits from this sign and the Monkey (last year). I like to think that I’m creative, hard-working, but also critical and sometimes can be quick to react.

Unlike the January 1 new year, the Chinese New Year is a 2 week long celebration that ends with the Lantern Festival. There are many traditional activities, like a reunion family dinner, honoring ancestors, and visiting friends and family.

Here are some last minute ways you can celebrate Chinese New Year. 

Wear red. Red keeps away the evil spirits. Red envelopes are also given to children for good luck.

Order Chinese food. Try a new dish along with one of your favorites. Or enjoy a mandarin orange (another symbol of good luck).

If you don’t already know how, learn how to use chopsticks

Learn which zodiac sign you are and what are the traits of someone born under that sign. Does this match up with who you are?

Make lanterns. It can be a simple version like this or a more intricate one like this.

Leave a comment